مباردة البحوث المعنية بالإستقرار

على مدار السنوات الماضية، سلطت التطورات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا الضوء على الحاجة إلى مواجهة التحديات التي تواجهها جهود تحقيق السلام والاستقرار، بما في ذلك الدورة الشاملة لإدارة النزاعات (من الوقاية إلى إيجاد الحلول).

وقد تشكل توافق في الآراء ما بين الحكومات والجهات المانحة والوكالات الإنمائية والباحثين، على حد سواء، ونصت الفكرة الرئيسية على أنه لضمان استدامة أي برنامج يتم وضعه لتحقيق الاستقرار، يجب اتباع نهجاً متكاملاً وشاملاً. وهذا يعني تحقيق الاستفادة من مجموعة كاملة من الأدوات، التي تتضمن، السلطة الوطنية، والجمع بين أبعاد الاستقرار العسكري والأمن، مع الأهداف الإنسانية والإنمائية، والانتعاش الاقتصادي، والحكم الرشيد والعدالة والمصالحة الدائمة.

وتهدف أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية، من خلال طرح مبادرة بحوث الاستقرار، إلى تعزيز الوعي والفهم لمختلف جوانب الاستقرار وحل النزاعات، وإضافة قيمة لمناقشات وجهود تحقيق السلام والاستقرار وتسوية النزاعات في المنطقة.

المنشورات

  • نوفمبر 2018 + ورقة عمل

    التنافس على العدالة: العدالة الانتقالية وإرساء الاستقرار في منطقة الشرق الأوسط/شمال أفريقيا

    الدكتورة زينايدا ميلر

    تستعرض ورقة العمل الصادرة من أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية العوامل التي تحدد مدى قدرة العدالة الانتقالية في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا على تعزيز الاستقرار، وإحداث التغيير، وتوزيع السلطة. وبدلاً من تركيز ورقة العمل على دراسة حالة واحدة، فإنها تبين أبرز السمات والتحديات التي اتضحت في عدة تجارب وطنية وإقليمية من قبل. وتتناول الورقة البحثية أربعة محاور وهي: (1) اختيار وتصميم آليات العدالة الانتقالية و(2) شروط الانتقال و(3) دمج العوامل الاقتصادية و(4) دور الذاكرة الجماعية والتاريخ والمصالحة.

  • +
    جهود إرساء الاستقرار وبناء السلام منذ التسعينات أكتوبر 2018 الدكتور جوناثان فيشر، والدكتور نيكولا لوماي إيبر اقرأ أكثر
    أكتوبر 2018 + ورقة عمل من أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية

    جهود إرساء الاستقرار وبناء السلام منذ التسعينات

    الدكتور جوناثان فيشر، والدكتور نيكولا لوماي إيبر

    يتزايد اعتبار إرساء الاستقرار المبدأ المُوجه الرئيس للتدخلات الدولية في حالات الصراع وبناء السلام. وأصبح إرساء الاستقرار كذلك موضوعاً جوهرياً في السياسات الرامية لصياغة ووصف كل من مضمون وطموحات تلك التدخلات. تُسلّط ورقة العمل الحالية من أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية الضوء على طبيعة عمليات إرساء الاستقرار منذ نهاية الحرب الباردة. ولهذه الغاية، تستعرض ثلاث دارسات حالة وهي (أوغندا في التسعينات، وهايتي في بداية العقد الأول من القرن الحالي، وجنوب السودان في منتصف العقد الأول من القرن الحالي) والتي كانت جميعها الطرف المتلقي في أنشطة إرساء الاستقرار.

  • أكتوبر 2018 + ورقة عمل

    النُهج المعاصرة في جهود إرساء الاستقرار الدولية

    الدكتور فيكتور جيرفيس

    تُلقي ورقة العمل من أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية الضوء على عدد من المحاولات الدولية لصياغة إطار نظري ومؤسسي لأنشطة إرساء الاستقرار. في البداية، تلقي الورقة البحثية نظرةً عامةً على ما يميز إرساء الاستقرار عن المفاهيم والممارسات المشابهة له، ثُمَّ تستعرض عدداً من النماذج المؤسسية والآليات البيروقراطية التي تمت صياغتها في العديد من دول أوروبا والمحيط الأطلسي التي لديها خبرات في قيادة جهود إرساء الاستقرار. وفي هذه الأثناء، تحدد ورقة العمل الأولويات والخيارات والخطوات المقبلة التي يمُكن أن تدعم معاً المحاولات الجارية من جانب الأطراف الجديدة المشاركة في جهود إرساء الاستقرار، ولا سيما في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، لصياغة مفهومها الخاص عن إرساء الاستقرار وتحديد الأدوات التي تحتاج إليها لبناء قدرة الدول على مواجهة الأزمات ونشر الأمن والسلام في جميع أنحاء المنطقة.

  • يوليو 2018 + أوراق العمل من أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية

    اليمن: التدابير الفورية وقصيرة المدى لتحسين الوضع الإنساني

    الدكتورة ساسكيا فان جنوجتن

    تبحث ورقة العمل الحالية من أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية سُبل تحسين الوضع الإنساني في اليمن على المدى الفوري والقريب. ويدور محور التركيز في هذه الورقة حول إيجاد الحلول في أربعة مجالات وهي: ارتفاع معدل انعدام الأمن الغذائي، وتعطل الخدمات الأساسية، وانتشار الأمراض المعدية، وتوفير احتياجات النازحين داخلياً. وتقترح الورقة البحثية بعض الحلول بشأن توفير وتوزيع السلع الحيوية في جميع أنحاء اليمن، وإرساء الاستقرار في النظام المالي اليمني، وضمان توفير الخدمات الأساسية للجميع بدون تمييز، وزيادة المساعدات، والوفاء بتعهدات تقديم المعونات.

  • أبريل 2018 + أوراق العمل من أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية

    تثبيت دعائم الدولة العراقية: التحديات والفرص

    الدكتور فيكتور جيرفيس

    العراق في لحظة حاسمة من تاريخه - مرة أخرى. فالهزيمة العسكرية لتنظيم داعش تتيح الفرصة من جديد لإعادة توجيه مسار البلاد نحو الاستقرار والرخاء الاقتصادي على المدى البعيد. وفي حين أن مهمة إعادة إعمار المناطق التي تم تحريرها من قبضة تنظيم داعش تحتاج إلى جهود متواصلة على مدار السنوات المقبلة إلا أن النخب العراقية ينبغي عليها أن تتصدى للمشكلات ذات الطبيعة الجذرية وعلاجها؛ فبدون ذلك فإن النصر العسكري على تنظيم داعش سوف يتبخر سريعاً. تستعرض ورقة العمل هذه تحليلاً للتحديات الجذرية العامة التي تواجهها الدولة العراقية، وتقترح بعض الحلول من أجل وضع أولويات وخيارات أكثر وضوحاً حول كيفية التصدي لها. ونشير على وجه التحديد إلى العناصر الرئيسية للضعف الهيكلي في بنية الدولة وقدرتها على مواصلة مسيرتها من خلال ثلاثة أبعاد أساسية.

  • مايو 2018 + أوراق العمل من أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية

    إرساء الاستقرار في الشرق الأوسط المعاصر وشمال أفريقيا: أبعاد مختلفة لمفهوم فضفاض

    الدكتورة ساسكيا فان جنوجتن

    عادةً، يتحدث السياسيون والخبراء عن ضرورة "الاستقرار" و"إرساء الاستقرار" عند التطرق إلى الوضع الراهن في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا بمعناها الواسع. وحقاً يبدو أن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا بمعناها الواسع في أَمَسِّ الحاجَةِ إلى إرساء الاستقرار، ولكن غياب التوافق حول ما تحمله كلمة الاستقرار من معانٍ وكيفية الوصول إليه قد يسهم في استمرار تأجيج اضطراب الاستقرار. هذه الورقة البحثية هي أول ورقة في سلسلة من الأوراق البحثية التي سيتم نشرها في إطار "مبادرة أبحاث إرساء الاستقرار" من أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية، والتي تقودها الدكتورة ساسكيا فان جنوجتن والدكتور فيكتور جيرفيس. وفي هذه الورقة التي تشكل الإطار العام للمبادرة، يعرض المؤلف طرحاً مبدئياً عن مختلف أبعاد تحقيق الاستقرار بحسب الموجود في الدراسات الحالية، وبذلك يجمع بين الأفكار والمقاربات والدروس المستفادة من العاملين في هذا المجال والأكاديميين على حد السواء. وفي هذه الأثناء، تحدد الورقة البحثية التحديات العامة والمجالات التي بحاجة إلى مزيد من الدراسة والبحث في إطار المبادرة البحثية المشار إليها.

الفيديو

الفعاليات

Stabilisation Research Initiative


Over the past years, developments in the broader MENA region have emphasised the need to tackle the challenges of peacemaking and stabilisation efforts across the full conflict management cycle (from prevention to resolution).

A consensus has formed among governments, donors, development agencies and scholars alike, that, to be sustainable, any stabilisation programming needs an integrated, comprehensive approach. This means making use of the full spectrum of instruments of national power, thereby bringing together the dimensions of military stabilisation and security, with humanitarian and development objectives, economic recovery, good governance and justice and reconciliation.

With its Stabilisation Research Initiative (SRI), the Emirates Diplomatic Academy aims at increasing understanding of various aspects of stabilisation and conflict-resolution and at adding value to the broader debate on peace, stabilisation and conflict resolution efforts in the region.

Publications

  • Nov 2018 + Working Paper

    Competing for Justice: Transitional Justice and Stabilisation in the Middle East/North Africa

    Dr Zinaida Miller

    This EDA Working Paper identifies factors that shape the potential for transitional justice in the MENA region to reinforce stability, foment change, and allocate power. Rather than focusing on a single case study, it references salient characteristics and challenges raised by different national and regional situations. The paper is structured around four categories: (1) the choice and design of mechanisms; (2) the conditions of transition; (3) the inclusion of economic factors; and (4) the role of memory, history, and reconciliation.

  • +
    Stabilisation and Peacebuilding Efforts Since the 1990s Oct 2018 Dr Jonathan Fisher and Dr Nicolas Lemay-Hébert. View More
    Oct 2018 + EDA Working Paper

    Stabilisation and Peacebuilding Efforts Since the 1990s

    Dr Jonathan Fisher and Dr Nicolas Lemay-Hébert.

    Stabilisation has increasingly become the central guiding rationale behind international interventions in situations of conflict and peacebuilding. It has also become a core policy discourse used to articulate and describe both the content and ambitions of such interventions. This EDA Working Paper explores what has been the nature of stabilisation missions since the end of the Cold War. It compares three case studies (Uganda in the 1990s, Haiti in the 2000s and South Sudan since the mid-2000s) that have been on the recipient end of stabilisation practices.

  • Oct 2018 + Working paper

    Contemporary Approaches to International Stabilisation Efforts

    Dr Victor Gervais

    This EDA Working Paper looks at a variety of relevant international attempts to build the conceptual and institutional toolkit for stabilisation activities. It first provides an overview of what makes stabilisation distinctive from competing concepts and practices, and then reviews a range of institutional models and bureaucratic mechanisms developed in various Euro-Atlantic countries with experience leading stabilisation responses. Along the way, the paper lays out priorities, options and ways forward that together could support ongoing attempts by new actors involved in stabilisation efforts, in particular in the MENA region, to develop their own conception of stabilisation and build the instruments they need to build state resilience and promote peace and security across the region.

  • May 2018 + EDA Working Paper

    Yemen: Immediate-To-Short Term Actions to Improve the Humanitarian Situation

    Dr Saskia van Genugten

    This EDA Working Paper looks into ways to improve the humanitarian situation in Yemen in the immediate to short term. The focus is on finding solutions in four areas: the increase in food insecurity, the disruption of basic services, the spread of communicable diseases and the needs of those that are internally displaced. It argues for solutions with regard to access and distribution of vital goods throughout Yemen, stabilisation of Yemen’s financial system and ensuring indiscriminate basic service provision and for scaling up assistance and living up to aid pledges.

  • Apr 2018 + EDA Working Paper

    Consolidating the Iraqi State: Challenges and Opportunities

    Dr Victor Gervais

    Iraq stands at a pivotal moment - once again. The military defeat of Daesh represents a renewed opportunity to reorient the country's trajectory towards long-term stability and economic prosperity. While the task of rebuilding areas liberated from Daesh will require sustained efforts in the coming years, the Iraqi elites must also ensure that problems of a deeper structural nature will be tackled. Without this, the military success again Daesh will soon vanish; This working Paper analyses the broad structural challenges facing the Iraqi state, along with possible solutions, in order to establish clearer priorities and options for dealing with them. In particular, three key elements of structural fragility are identified in three dimensions of the state's capacity and sustainability.

  • Apr 2018 + EDA Working Paper

    Stabilisation in the Contemporary Middle East and North Africa: Different Dimensions of an Elusive Concept

    Dr Saskia van Genugten

    Politicians and commentators commonly talk of the need for ‘stability’ and ‘stabilisation’ when referring to the current situation in the broader Middle East and North Africa (MENA). Indeed, stabilisation is what the broader MENA region seems to be in desperate need of, but a lack of consensus around what stability entails and how to get there, might keep fueling instability instead. This paper is a first of a series that will be published as part of the EDA’s Stabilisation Research Initiative (SRI), led by EDA faculty members dr. Saskia van Genugten and dr. Victor Gervais. In this framing paper, the author offers an initial exploration of the different dimensions of stabilisation as can be found in the existing literature, thereby combining current ideas, approaches and lessons identified by practitioners and academics alike. Along the way, the paper identifies common challenges and areas for further exploration within the EDA’s research initiative.

Videos

Events